About

What is TWA?

TWA Mission Statement

Our History

Professional Staff

 

Texas Wildlife Association - Who We Are from Texas Wildlife Association on Vimeo.

TWA focuses its mission on private landowners and their ethical relationship to the land, and TWA concentrates on issues relating to private property, hunting and hunter rights, and conservation of our natural resources.

TWA is governed by a Board of Directors, four statewide Officers, and an Executive Committee. The organization’s headquarters office is located in San Antonio, Texas. TWA has three main program areas:  Conservation Legacy (youth and adult education), Hunting Heritage (Texas Youth Hunting Program and Texas Big Game Awards), and Issues and Advocacy.

The future well-being of wildlife, game, nongame and rare species depends upon private landowners’ commitment to habitat. They are the real stewards of the land in their care. Motivated by what Aldo Leopold called a land ethic, enabled by sustainable markets and incentives, and nurtured by their association with the entire land, hunting and conservation communities…private landowners in Texas are achieving real conservation results.

Click here to see how TWA is making a difference!

 

TWA Mission Statement

Serving Texas wildlife and its habitat, while protecting property rights, hunting heritage, and the conservation efforts of those who value and steward wildlife resources.
 

Our History

The Texas Wildlife Association was formed in 1985 by a group of ranchers, wildlife managers and hunters dedicated to the conservation, management, and enhancement of wildlife and wildlife habitat on private lands.

Texas is 95 percent private land, and over two-thirds of the United States is privately owned. Texas hunters, anglers, wildlife watchers and conservationists recognized the necessity of working cooperatively with private landowners on wildlife, habitat and conservation issues.

 

Professional Staff

 

Administration                    

David Yeates, Chief Executive Officer: dyeates@texas-wildlife.org,  210-826-2904, 830-660-6089 (cell)   
Quita Hill, Director of Finance and Operations: qhill@texas-wildlife.org, 210-826-2904, 210-844-7496 (cell) 
David Brimager, Director of Marketing and Partner Relations: dbrimager@texas-wildlife.org, 210-826-2904, 210-862-0182 (cell)
Shannon Hasan, Office Administrator: shasan@texas-wildlife.org, 210-826-2904
Courtney Brittain, Consultant: cbrittain@texas-wildlife.org, 210-393-3467 (cell)

 

Membership      

Mimi Sams, Engagement Coordinator: msams@texas-wildlife.org, 210-826-2904, 214-668-0154 (cell)
Kristin Parma, Membership Coordinator: kparma@texas-wildlife.org, 210-826-2904, 541-221-9372 (cell)

 

Conservation Legacy

Kassi Scheffer, Director of Youth Education: kscheffer@texas-wildlife.org, 210-826-2904, 512-983-8839 (cell)
Leslie Wittenburg, Director of Education - L.A.N.D.S. Intensive: lwittenburg@texas-wildlife.org, 512-680-6000 (cell)
Iliana Peña, Director of Conservation Programs: ipena@texas-wildlife.org, 210-826-2904, 210-913-9798 (cell)
Brian Robert, Education Program Specialist: brobert@texas-wildlife.org, 254-749-2237 (cell)
Robbin Hallford, Education Program Specialist: rhallford@texas-wildlife.org, 817-528-2695 (cell)    
Elanor Dean, Education Program Specialist: edean@texas-wildlife.org, 210-826-2904, 713-775-6895 (cell)
Adrienne Paquette, L.A.N.D.S. Educator: apaquette@texas-wildlife.org
Ali Kuehn, L.A.N.D.S. Educator: akuehn@texas-wildlife.org
Elisa Velador, L.A.N.D.S. Educator: evelador@texas-wildlife.org
Gwen Eishen, L.A.N.D.S. Educator: geishen@texas-wildlife.org
Tim Schenk, L.A.N.D.S. Educator: tschenk@texas-wildlife.org
Marla Wolf, Curriculum Writer

 

Hunting Heritage

Chris Mitchell, Texas Youth Hunting Program Director: cmitchell@texas-wildlife.org, 210-260-6802 (cell)
Bryan Jones, TYHP Field Operations Coordinator: bjones@texas-wildlife.org,  720-240-6724 (cell)
Bob Barnette, TYHP North Texas Field Operations Coordinator: bbarnette@texas-wildlife.org, 214-282-3697 (cell)
Briana Nicklow, TYHP East Texas Field Operations Coordinator: bnicklow@texas-wildlife.org, 832-409-3888 (cell)
Kim Hodges, TYHP Program Coordinator: khodges@texas-wildlife.org, 210-930-2177  
Kara Starr, TBGA Program Coordinator: kstarr@texas-wildlife.org, 210-236-9761, 210-884-6442 (cell)   

 

Issues & Advocacy      

Joey Park, Legislative Program Coordinator: joeypark@austin.rr.com, 512-293-4136 (cell)

 

Development   

Meg Guerra, TWA Foundation Director of Development: mguerra@texas-wildlife.org, 210-826-2904, 817-999-5260 (cell) 

 

Magazine Production

Kim Rothe, Consulting Publications Coordinator/Editor: krothe@swtexas.net, 210-826-2904 
David Brimager, Advertising Sales: dbrimager@texas-wildlife.org, 210-826-2904, 210-862-0182 (cell)

 


 


Stay Informed