Program Areas

Teacher Workshops

Teacher Workshops are six (6) hour trainings that introduce attendees to the Texas Wildlife Association, in-class and outdoor lessons and activities, and how to incorporate natural resources into classrooms or programming.  Lessons focus on teaching land stewardship, native wildlife, and water conservation and are Science TEKS-aligned for Grades K-8.

 

 

  • Designed for Grade K-8 Educators
  • Open to all statewide formal and informal educators (workshops are not restricted to a certain district or region)
  • Workshops are offered at no cost
  • Six (6) hour workshops offering CPE credit
  • Provides hands-on training for educators to incorporate natural resource and private land stewardship lessons into their teachings.
  • G/T Credit Hours
    • ​Per the Texas State Plan for the Education of Gifted/Talented Students, G/T designation is up to each district.
    • During the Outreach Teacher Workshops TWA provides curriculum differentiation and enrichment with depth and complexity.  Many districts have considered TWA workshops eligible for their six-hour update.
    • Please ask your district about their specific G/T requirements and feel free to contact your TWA Workshop host if further information is needed.

 

Upon completion of the workshop, we ask that each teacher in attendance incorporate the L.A.N.D.S. Outreach lessons and activities into their classrooms during the school year and provide TWA with feedback and evaluations of those lessons.  TWA educational staff will be available for post-workshop support and will follow up to ensure effectiveness.

Contact Us:

Harris & Surrounding Counties:

Contact:

Schools located in Brazoria, Chambers, Galveston, Liberty and Harris County ISDs (Channelview, Crosby, Deer Park, Galena Park, Goose Creek, Houston, Huffman, Sheldon, La Porte, and Pasadena) Ali Kuehn, akuehn@texas-wildlife.org, 360-870-7477
Schools located in Fort Bend, Montgomery, Waller, and Harris County ISDs (Aldine, Alief, Cypress-Fairbanks, Humble, Katy, Klein, Spring Branch, Spring, and Tomball)
Adrienne Paquette, apaquette@texas-wildlife.org, 972-743-2956
   

Tarrant & Surrounding Counties:

Contact:

Schools located in Collin, Dallas, Ellis, and Johnson, Counties Gwen Eishen, geishen@texas-wildlife.org, 214-288-7043
Schools located in Denton, Parker, Tarrant, and Wise Counties
Caroline Langston, clangston@texas-wildlife.org, 682-251-3959
   

South Texas Counties:

Contact:

Schools located in Cameron, Hidalgo, Kenedy, Starr, and Willacy Counties

Elisa Velador, evelador@texas-wildlife.org, 956-266-3583

Schools located in Brooks, Dimmit, Duval, Jim Hogg, La Salle, Webb, and Zapata
Masi Mejia, mmejia@EastFoundation.org, 956-312-0550

 

.


Stay Informed