Program Areas

Wildlife by Design Across Texas

Wildlife by Design Across Texas pairs our classroom presentations with distance learning, allowing us to share our educational presentations with you anywhere across Texas!

Join our TWA Educators as we broadcast live across Texas - we are taking our classroom presentations virtual!  You and your students or children can join us as we educate and enlighten them with Texas topics - soil, water, life cycles, skins and skulls, and birds.  All presentations are interactive (with technology security features in place), designed for students grades K-8, are Science TEKS-aligned, offered at no cost, and focus on the importance of natural resources, conservation, and stewardship.  Check out our presentation schedule and register your students today!

Program Information:

  • Available at no cost for all viewers!
  • Presented using Zoom - watch on your computer or device
  • 45 minutes in length, scheduled 2-3 days/week
  • Designed for students in grades K-8, and Science TEKS-aligned.
  • Five (5) presentations topics (details below) – Skins & Skulls, Birds of a Feather, Where Is Our Water?,  Investigating Life Cycles, and Stewarding Soil

Registration and Participation Specifics:

  • Registration:
    • Required in advance - click the linked time on the schedule to register for that date/time
    • Teachers - Register once for your entire class, then forward/share the link emailed to you
    • Participation is limited to 100 participants/presentation
  • Participation:
    • All presentations include poll questions for student/presenter interaction
      • As presentations are open to anyone, we have disabled audio, video, and chat features to ensure the presentation is not interrupted with external content
    • ​There are optional bilingual questions and a worksheet that align with each presentation.  Students could complete either during or after, if desired.

Presentation Schedule:

DATE

TOPIC

9AM REGISTRATION

2PM REGISTRATION

September

 

 

 

Monday, September 21
Wednesday, September 23
Friday, September 25
Tuesday, September 29

Birds of a Feather
Stewarding Soil
Where is Our Water?
Investigating Life Cycles

9am
9am
9am
9am

2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm

October

 

 

 

Thursday, October 1
Tuesday, October 6
Thursday, October 8
Monday, October 12
Wednesday, October 14
Friday, October 16
Monday, October 19
Wednesday, October 21
Friday, October 23
Tuesday, October 27
Thursday, October 29

Skins & Skulls
Stewarding Soil
Where Is Our Water?
Investigating Life Cycles
Skins & Skulls
Birds of a Feather
Where Is Our Water?
Investigating Life Cycles
Skins & Skulls
Birds of a Feather
Stewarding Soil

9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am

2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm

November

 

 

 

Tuesday, November 3
Thursday, November 5
Monday, November 9
Wednesday, November 11
Friday, November 13
Monday, November 16
Wednesday, November 18
Friday, November 20

Investigating Life Cycles
Skins & Skulls
Birds of a Feather
Stewarding Soil
Where Is Our Water?
Skins & Skulls
Birds of a Feather
Stewarding Soil

9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am

2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm

December

 

 

 

Tuesday, December 1
Thursday, December 3
Tuesday, December 8
Thursday, December 10
Monday, December 14
Wednesday, December 16
Friday, December 18

Where Is Our Water?
Investigating Life Cycles
Birds of a Feather
Stewarding Soil
Where Is Our Water?
Investigating Life Cycles
Skins & Skulls

9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am
9am

2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm
2pm

 

Presentation Descriptions:

Birds of a Feather is an overview of the adaptations, characteristics, and basic needs of birds.  Students will be engaged in hands-on investigations to discover traits that make a bird a bird, focusing on birds native to Texas, from the wild turkey to birds of prey.  Activities include studying functions of bird anatomy, exploring real bird biofacts, and listening to the calls of native wild birds.

Investigating Life Cycles is an inquiry-based program that allows students to investigate and compare life cycle models and record their observations. Students will learn the characteristics that allow a plant or animal to grow into a mature adult and how each stage affects its habitat and other plant and animal populations. Students will learn the difference between complete and incomplete metamorphosis in insects, as well as exploring the varied life cycles and interdependence of other members of the animal and plant kingdoms.

Skins & Skulls is a prepared discussion of the identification and specialized adaptations of native Texas wildlife with animal skulls and skins.  Students will investigate the skulls of these animals and use field guides to identify their ‘mystery skulls’, all while learning about their animal’s habitat, food sources, and adaptations for survival.

Stewarding Soil is a series of hands-on activities that allows students to dig in and investigate!  Students will learn how soil is formed; the characteristics of sand, silt, and clay; how soil health affects living and nonliving things; and what products come from soil.  Throughout the program, students will gain a better understanding of why soil is so important to wildlife and people and how they can be stewards of this natural resource.

Where Is Our Water? is an interactive program that covers a variety of water units, from the water cycle and water usage, to pollution and infiltration into our aquifers.  During the presentation, activities and investigations will allow students to understand the impact that our use of water has on Texas aquifers, lakes, rivers, the land, humans, and wildlife.  The main message is conservation!

.


Stay Informed