Teacher Workshops

Teacher Workshops

Teacher Workshops are six (6) hour trainings that introduce attendees to the Texas Wildlife Association, in-class and outdoor lessons and activities, and how to incorporate natural resources into classrooms or programming.  Lessons focus on teaching land stewardship, native wildlife, and water conservation and are Science TEKS-aligned for Grades K-8.

Workshop Lessons: In-person | Virtual

Workshop Agendas

  • Designed for Grade K-8 Educators
  • Open to all statewide formal and informal educators (workshops are not restricted to a certain district or region)
  • Workshops are offered at no cost
  • Six (6) hour workshops offering CPE credit
  • Provides hands-on training for educators to incorporate natural resource and private land stewardship lessons into their teachings.

G/T Credit Hours

    • Per the Texas State Plan for the Education of Gifted/Talented Students, G/T designation is up to each district.
    • During the Outreach Teacher Workshops TWA provides curriculum differentiation and enrichment with depth and complexity.  Many districts have considered TWA workshops eligible for their six-hour update.
    • Please ask your district about their specific G/T requirements and feel free to contact your TWA Workshop host if further information is needed.

Fall 2022 Virtual Workshops

Location
Hosted on Zoom

Host Educator
Elisa Velador, Rio Grande Valley

Harris & Surrounding Counties: Contact:
Brazoria, Chambers, Galveston, Liberty and Eastern Harris County ISDs (Channelview, Crosby, Deer Park, Galena Park, Goose Creek, Houston, Huffman, Sheldon, La Porte, and Pasadena) Ali Kuehn akuehn@texas-wildlife.org
Fort Bend, Montgomery, Waller, and Western Harris County ISDs (Aldine, Alief, Cypress-Fairbanks, Humble, Katy, Klein, Spring Branch, Spring, and Tomball) Adrienne Paquette apaquette@texas-wildlife.org
Tarrant & Surrounding Counties: Contact:
Collin, Dallas, Ellis, and Johnson Counties Gene Cooper gcooper@texas-wildlife.org
Denton, Parker, Tarrant, and Wise Counties Caroline Langston clangston@texas-wildlife.org
South Texas Counties: Contact:
Cameron, Hidalgo, Kenedy, Starr, and Willacy Counties Elisa Velador evelador@texas-wildlife.org

Stay Informed

Get interesting news and updates from around the state delivered to your inbox.

By submitting this form, you are granting: Texas Wildlife Association 6644 FM 1102 New Braunfels, TX 78132, United States, www.texas-wildlife.org permission to email you. You may unsubscribe via the link found at the bottom of every email.